AAUW NC Spring Board Meeting Friday, April 16, 2010 – Charlotte, NC

President Millie Hoffler- Foushee called the meeting to order at 4:40 p.m. The **roll call** indicated a quorum of 14 branches represented.

Diane Schneider, AAUW Charlotte Branch President, welcomed those attending the Board Meeting and expressed appreciation to members of the Charlotte Branch for their work in preparation for the Board Meeting and State Convention.

Minutes of the Fall Board Meeting were read. Lill Van Order made a motion to approve the minutes. The motion was seconded and passed.

Sue Mengert was appointed as acting secretary by President Hoffler-Foushee.

President Hoffler-Foushee announced that Carol Rognrud, Association staff member, will be attending the Convention and presenting a workshop on Saturday. It was also announced that Debra Richardson, Greensboro Branch, has been appointed as a member of the Association Leadership Corps.

The following members volunteered to be the **Reading Committee** for the minutes: Diane Schneider (Charlotte), Kay White (Chapel Hill), and Mary Peterson (Twin Rivers-New Bern).

Treasurer's Report – Mary Fran Schickedantz (Report attached)	
Note: AAUW is on a fiscal year, July 1 – June 30.	
As of March 31 st - Total Income	\$9,490.37
Total Expenditures	7,239.53 (Does not include money paid for branch support.)

Mary Fran moved that the report be filed for review; the motion passed.

The **Membership Report** prepared by Membership VP Sheila Bassoppo-Moyo was distributed. (Report attached) Denny McGuire moved that the report be accepted. The motion was seconded and passed.

Connie Gamble Ochse, Communications Team Chair, presented the **Communications Team Report.** (Report attached) As of June 30, Connie will be stepping down as coordinator of the "Tar Heel News" and overseer of the website. She indicated that a Job Description is in the Spring THN. The copy deadline for the next THN is May 3 with the mail-out date of June 3. President Hoffler-Foushee thanked Connie and the Communications Team for their excellent work.

Karla Atkinson and Lill Van Order, Program Co-Vice Presidents, presented the **Program Report.** (report attached) They indicated that in 2011 there will be a new format for the state organization. A meeting will be held in late summer or early fall to discuss the format and structure. They said that it is important that the meeting "take a look at what will serve branches best; one size does not it all." It was suggested that prior to the meeting there be a team to develop ideas to be suggested to those attending the late summer or early fall meeting. The following agreed to be on the team: Barie Baker (Tryon), Mary Peterson (Twin Rivers-New Bern), Peg Holmes (Hendersonville). Elaine Ostrowski Public Policy VP was unable to attend due to a death in her family. Her **Public Policy Report** was distributed. (Report attached) Doris Bernlohr moved that the report be accepted. The motion was seconded and passed.

Elizabeth Laney, Chair of the **Bylaws Committee**, recommended that Article XII, Section 2 of the AAUW NC Bylaws be changed to read as follows: "Each <u>voting</u> member in good standing as of the official notice of the meeting may attend and be entitled to vote at any annual or special meeting of members." There was discussion about omitting the word <u>voting</u> in the recommended motion. The vote on the motion was 5 in favor, 17 opposed.

Doris Bernlohr moved that the Board recommend to the delegates at the Annual Business Meeting that Article XII, Section 2 be stated as follows: "Each member in good standing as of the official notice of the meeting may attend and be entitled to vote at any annual or special meeting of members." The motion was seconded. The vote was 23 in favor, 1 opposed, 1 abstention.

Pat Abell, Nominating Committee Chair, presented the **Nominating Committee Report.** She thanked the other committee members, Denny McGuire and JoAnn Hall, for their work. In spite of diligent efforts, the committee was unable to find candidates for President, Membership VP, Secretary, or Treasurer. Mary Fran Schickedantz did agree to continue temporarily as Treasurer.

An *ad hoc* committee was appointed during the Summer Board Meeting to look into **possible changes in the method of reimbursing the expenses of the Executive Committee** to a percentage, rather than a set amount. They have not been able to meet.

Mary Fran Schickedantz announced that Becky Hamrick will not be attending the Convention this year because friends have planned a party to celebrate her 90th birthday. Mary Fran made a motion that AAUW NC donate \$90 to the Ann Chipley Fund on the occasion of Becky Hamrick's 90th birthday and that a resolution announcing the gift be sent to Becky. Karla Atkinson seconded the motion, which passed unanimously. Denny McGuire volunteered to write the resolution, so it could be read during Saturday's Annual Business meeting.

Respectfully submitted Sue Mengert Acting Secretary