AAUW of North Carolina Minutes of the Board Meeting July 25, 2008 Holiday Inn, Salisbury

- I. <u>Call to Order</u>: President Millie Hoffler Foushee convened the meeting at 7:00 p.m.
- II. <u>**Roll Call**</u>: A quorum was present. [See attendee list, attached.] Becky Hamrick would act as Parliamentarian and she explained that 15 voting members made a Quorum.
- III. <u>Approval of Minutes</u>: The minutes from the April 18, 2008 Board meeting were posted on the web and were approved. Denny McGuire (Raleigh/Wake County), Kay White (Chapel Hill), and Mary Fran Schickedantz (Greensboro) volunteered to be on the reading committee for this meeting.

IV. <u>Committee Reports</u>:

- Finance Committee: Nancy Shoemaker, chair of the 2007-2008 finance committee presented the draft of the FY08 final report. The initial version of the FY09 budget was approved in e-mail. Rebecca Hammill (Salisbury) volunteered to review the FY08 financial report.
- Nominating Committee: Millie Hoffler Foushee stated that the Nominating Committee Chair is vacant. Members of the Nominating Committee include Nancy Shoemaker, Karla Atkinson, Phyllis Guberman, Elizabeth Laney and B'Ann Vance. The Nominating Committee will find candidates for President Elect, Treasurer, and Program Vice President this year.
- Membership Committee: Mary Fran Schickedantz gave the report for Sheila Bassoppo-Moyo. An update was given about the Princeville project. Ideas for this community project included getting help from the Army Corp of Engineers to help with rebuilding after Hurricane Floyd, and financial literacy with the help of Chapel Hill and other coalition partners. Financial Literacy was a project specifically requested by the residents of this area. Sheila will continue to work on a committee to develop a special project for the Princeville area. Other support included money given in 2000 to help buy books for the Princeville Library.

Branch without Borders: Nancy Shoemaker moved that the board approve in principle the formation of the statewide branch without borders. The branch will claim special support as specified in AAUW NC By-Laws. The motion was seconded by J. Denny McGuire and passed. • Communication Committee: Millie announced the newsletter editor would be Gretchen Purgason. She can be reached via e-mail: <u>gretchenPurgason@triad.rr.com</u> or editoraauwnc.org. She also reported that money would be allocated for the print shells in the amount of \$800.00.

The Board paid tribute to Marty Folsom's 10 years of editorial service to the AAUW NC.

• Convention Report: Sandra McLaurin reported on the convention, taking place in Wilmington, NC, would be a shorter version than last year. It will be on 3/27/09 and there will be a celebration for the Raleigh Branch 100 years.

Millie Hoffler Foushee reported that there would be a Pre-Convention seminar on Women and Finance, which will be open to the public.

• Public Policy: Millie Hoffler Foushee introduced the new Public Policy Chair, Elaine Ostrowski.

V. <u>New Business</u>:

- Nancy Shoemaker gave information about the Women's Agenda Assemblies that can be found on the ncwu.org website.
- Carolyn Garfein, Education Foundation Board Member was introduced. She is running for AAUW President.
- Mary Fran Schickedantz suggested we modify the budget line item from "events" to "Program/Events."
- Mary Fran Schickedantz made a motion to increase the budget item of mini-grants and Special Projects from \$2,500 to \$5,000. Seconded by B'Ann Vance and passed.
- Mary Fran Schickedantz made a motion to change Article 10 Section F1 from \$.25 mile to the volunteer IRS rate and the first 50 miles of travel will be included. This change would cover committee members working in lieu of the chair. The motion was seconded by Elaine Ostrowski and passed.

VI. <u>Announcements</u>:

• Millie Hoffler Foushee said copies of the proposed Association By-Laws would be reviewed and sent as a group to the Association.

• Elaine Ostrowski reported that the Paycheck Fairness Act letter Mary Peterson had us sign at the convention was sent to Congress.

The meeting was adjourned at 9:30 p.m.

Mary E. Stephens, AAUW-NC Secretary

Board Meeting Attendees: July 25, 2008

Officers present:

- 1. Millie Hoffler-Foushee, President
- 2. Nancy Shoemaker, Past President
- 3. Mary Fran Schickedantz Treasurer
- 4. Mary E. Stephens, Secretary
- 5. Queen Thompson, Diversity Chair
- 6. Elaine Ostrowski, Public Policy Chair
- 7. Rebecca Hamrick, acting Parliamentarian

Branches represented:

- 1. Chapel Hill Kay White, president
- 2. Gaston Regional Judith Burns, proxy
- 3. Greensboro Everlena Diggs, president
- 4. Hendersonville Peg Holmes, president
- 5. High Country Marty Folsom, proxy
- 6. High Point Paulette Anderson, president
- 7. Raleigh/Wake County Denny McGuire, president
- 8. Sandhills-Southern Pines Sue Williamson, president
- 9. Salisbury Alice Lenear, proxy
- 10. Statesville Mary Morrow, president
- 11. Wilmington Sandra McLaurin, president

Attendees with no vote at the board meeting

- 1. Becky Hamrick Gaston
- 2. Sandra Champion Gaston
- 3. Becky Hammill Salisbury
- 4. Carolyn Garfein Education Foundation Chair
- 5. Lois McCorkle Sandhills Southern Pines

Absent officers/branches:

- 1. Sheila Bassoppo-Moyo, VP Membership, College/University Chair
- 2. Etta Alston, Co-VP of Programs
- 3. Connie Gamble Ochse, Communication Chair
- 4. Judy Atkinson, Team Building Coordinator
- 5. Asheville
- 6. Brevard
- 7. Bryson City
- 8. Cherokee County
- 9. Eden
- 10. Charlotte
- 11. Jacksonville Regional
- 12. Tryon Area
- 13. Twin Rivers/New Bern
- 14. Winston Salem