AAUW of North Carolina Business meeting April 19, 2008 Convened at 1:45 p.m. Marriott, Greensboro, NC

Call to Order: Welcome from President Nancy Shoemaker to the 2008 convention of the AAUW of NC. Nancy then introduced Sue Mengert, the President of the Greensboro branch, who hosted the state convention. Nancy also introduced Vicki Pinson from Communication Services for the Deaf and Hard of Hearing. All business was projected on a screen so those present could more easily follow what was being said. This procedure will also serve to assist the secretary in writing her minutes. This new idea was applauded by all in attendance.

Everlena Diggs presented the credentials report.

Nancy Shoemaker noted that there were 98 registered members, and 17 of 21 branches represented, so a quorum was present. Kay White, Doris Bernlohr and Phyllis Guberman agreed to be the reading committee for this meeting.

Meeting rules: The meeting rules were adopted as presented.

Nancy Shoemaker presented the Agenda for approval with the addition of one item related to public policy. Approval was given and the agenda stands as presented. Minutes from the 2007 convention business meeting were presented for approval. The President asked for any comments/corrections to the minutes; and hearing none, the minutes were filed as approved.

Treasurer report: State assets were \$27,248.77 as un-reviewed figures. Minutes will show draft presented and final will be presented in next issue of the Tar Heel News. The budget for the 2008-2009 FY will be sent out via e-mail for approval.

Janet Weber, proxy for Pat Tilley chair of nominating committee, gave the committee report. Mary Stephens from High Point was nominated for secretary. Sheila Bassoppo-Moyo from Raleigh/Wake County, who served as college university representative on current board, was nominated for membership vice president. There were no nominations from the floor. Karen Perry moved to accept by acclamation; Lou Dean Howard seconded. The candidates were elected.

Candidates for the 2008-2009 nominating committee were presented: Karla Atkinson our outgoing secretary from Brevard. Phyllis Guberman from the Wilmington branch, Elizabeth Laney from the High Country branch. Nancy Shoemaker from Raleigh and outgoing president, and B'Ann Vance from Gaston Regional. There were no nominations from the floor. Nancy Shoemaker called for a vote to elect the members of the committee, and they were so elected. This nominating committee will find a president-elect, a vice president for program, and a treasurer. Mary Stephens and Sheila Bassoppo-Moyo will serve until 2010. Millie Hoffer-Foushee will appoint a new slate of appointed

officers. A key position will be the Tar Heel News editor. Connie Gamble Osche as communication chair has overall responsibility for that area.

Sheila Bassoppo-Moyo: We would like to recognize branches that took the initiative to publicize the advocacy tool kits that we distributed to branch presidents at the meeting in High Point. Branches were contacted to find out what was done with the advocacy tool kits. Some responses were received from certain branches. Kay White reported that toolkits were passed on to UNC Chapel Hill library. Mary Peterson and Sheila Bassoppo-Moyo presented recognition certificates to the following branches for participating in this program: Brevard, Chapel Hill, Greensboro, Raleigh/Wake County, Salisbury, Sandhills/Southern Pines, Statesville, Twin Rivers/New Bern, and Winston-Salem

Awards:

Membership report: Barbara White, membership vice president, was unable to be here today. Nancy Shoemaker had certificates for membership. The following branches were recognized.

Certificates for membership: Gaston Regional and High County both increased membership by 5%, Wilmington and Bryson City increased by 6%, Brevard increased 7%, Tryon by 9%, Chapel Hill by 14%, Salisbury by 18%, and High Point by 21%.

Fundraising: Lill Van Order: This year with fundraising we considered any part of AAUW that your branch or you gave to: AAUW, the AAUW Educational Foundation, the AAUW Legal Advocacy Fund, and the AAUW Leadership and Training Institute.

Awards in overall giving to: Tryon area 10^{th} overall giving and Chapel Hill is 9^{th} . The others are 8^{th} Hendersonville, 7^{th} Raleigh Wake, 6^{th} Charlotte, 5^{th} Winston-Salem, 4^{th} Asheville, 3^{rd} Wilmington, 2^{nd} Greensboro, and 1^{st} Brevard.

Per capita giving: 10th place is Asheville, 9th High Point, 8th Jacksonville Regional, 7th Gaston Regional, 6th Wilmington, 5th Greensboro, 4th Charlotte, 3rd Raleigh Wake, 2nd Winston-Salem, and 1st Brevard.

A special award goes to Franklin County for a donating its remaining funds to the Educational Foundation when it disbanded.

Nancy Shoemaker presented awards for overall excellence to the following Branches of Distinction: Brevard, Chapel Hill, Gaston Regional, High Point, Tryon, and Wilmington These branches demonstrated membership growth, received a fundraising award, and demonstrated commitment to programming by being represented in the AAUW NC 100 Club or participating in the Young Advocates Tookit project. [It was later determined that Greensboro should have been included in this list.]

After reports from the branches, remarks from the president-elect and president, thanks to
the host branch Greensboro, and the 2009 invitation from Wilmington, the business
meeting adjourned at 3:15.

Mary E. Stephens, AAUW NC Secretary