Skip to content

NC Delegates to AAUW Convention

The following people have said they intend to be delegates to the AAUW Convention in St. Louis at the end of the month:

Jan Schwartz, Asheville
Karla Atkinson, Brevard
Katherine White, Chapel Hill
Diane Schneider, Charlotte
Queen Thompson, Charlotte (unconfirmed)
Mildred Hoffler-Foushee, Greensboro
Everlena Diggs, Greensboro
Mary Fran Schickedantz, Greensboro
Margaret Holmes, Hendersonville
Joanne Hill, Jacksonville Regional (possible)
Lois McCarthy, Sandhills-Southern Pines
Sue Williamson, Sandhills-Southern Pines
Sheila Bassoppo-Moyo, Raleigh/Wake County
Nancy Shoemaker, Raleigh/Wake County
Doris Bernlohr, Tar Heel
Elspeth “Barie” Anderson Baker, Tryon Area
Ann Wilkins, Tryon Area
Janice Imgrund, Winston-Salem

The delegates will be voting on candidates for the 2009-2011 board (including the AAUW president), the bylaws changes, the public policy platform, and more. You can find the details in the latest issue of Outlook. Additional information on the candidates will be sent to the delegates, and, for the first time this year, you can also get candidate information through the AAUW Voter Guide at

If your branch isn’t represented, feel free to contact one of the people listed — particularly those who are members of the state board — with your comments. AAUW’s tradition is that delegates are “informed, but not instructed” when they arrive at Convention since so much information is provided in the briefings and the debate. However, your views are important and all the delegates are interested in how the members view the important changes that the organization is facing.

Reminder to Members-at-Large and College/University representatives: Under the current bylaws, you have a special status with a vote at Convention. If you want to attend and be one of those who decide the future of AAUW, please register and check with the Helpline, if there are any questions.