Skip to content

Decisions from Greensboro Meeting on Sept. 25

  • by

Summary from Discussion on Saturday Sept. 25, 2010
AAUW NC Fall Board and Member Meetings
Hampton Inn in Greensboro, NC

Annual Meeting/Convention Discussion
One motion was approved unanimously: “There will be an annual meeting of AAUW NC in a central location that includes a state Board meeting. Additional meetings may be held at the discretion of the Board.”

A committee was formed to plan this annual meeting. The committee includes:

Brunetta Franklin – Salisbury Branch
Queen Thompson – Charlotte Branch
Diane Johnston – Charlotte Branch
Michelle Evans – Tar Heel Branch
Ann Wilkins – Tryon Branch
Peg Holmes – Hendersonville Branch
Sue Metz – Greensboro Branch

Current AAUW NC State Structure Discussion
It was agreed that further discussion of the current AAUW NC state structure, and the leadership of our state organization (defined through state bylaws and policies) should be reviewed in the context of a lean and light structure, flexible and (sometimes) short term leadership roles and a mission which stays firm with “sponginess all around.”

A committee was formed to begin this review and prepare recommendations for
consideration by the AAUW NC membership at an annual meeting. The committee includes:

Denny McGuire, Chairperson – Raleigh/Wake Branch
Nancy Shoemaker – Past President AAUW NC/Tar Heel Branch
Barie Baker – Tryon Branch
Millie Hoffler Foushee – Immediate Past President/Greensboro

NOTE: Any AAUW NC member is welcome to participate on either of these two
committees. Most of the initial work will be through email communications and
conference calls. Please contact Lill or Karla if you are interested.